What are the types of folds?

The types of folds can be divided into two categories: Parallel folds and cross folds. The parallel folds run in parallel fold lines, whereas the cross folds form a cross.

What is "folding" anyway?
We all know "folding" from our childhood, namely from the paper airplane. It's basically nothing more than an A4, folded at any point and *tadaaa*: It lets a sheet of paper swing through the air. Folding on our presses in the pressroom works in exactly the same way - or rather in a similar way. Well, most of the time it doesn't result in paper airplanes, but with a fold we give print products a new format without cutting, stitching or gluing. Printed sheets (paper) are
folding into certain shapes during folding. Depending on the type of fold used, this results in different numbers of breaks and pages, without the Druck product has to be bound.

 

Since "folding" offers so many exciting options for finishing printed products, we'll introduce you to a few classics today.

Parallel fold

With the parallel fold, the paper sheet is always folded in the same direction in the center in landscape or portrait format. If the paper sheet is folded twice in parallel in the middle, three breaks are created and thus eight pages.

Altar fold

With the altar fold, the fold lines also run parallel to each other. The outer parts of the sheet are folded inward without overlapping until their edges almost meet. If the paper sheet is folded twice, two breaks or six sides are created. The middle part is twice the size of an outer part. The two outer parts together form the title page.

Wrap fold

With the spiral fold, the fold lines also run parallel to each other. Unlike the parallel fold, the fold is always made in the same direction, inwards, so that the paper sheet looks like it is "wrapped". To prevent the inward-folded pages from hitting the fold, they must be one to three millimeters shorter than the reverse and title pages. If the paper sheet is folded twice, there will be two breaks and thus six pages.

Zigzag fold

In zigzag folding, two or more parts of the paper sheet are folded in alternating directions. This creates a typical zigzag pattern. If the sheet of paper is folded twice in a zigzag, two breaks are produced and thus six pages.

Cross fold

In the cross-fold process, several folds are made one after the other: The paper is folded in the center, each time offset by 90°, so that the fold breaks form a cross when the print sheet is completely open. If the paper sheet is folded twice in a cross, two breaks or eight pages are produced.

Of course, the different types of folds can also be combined with each other. This creates countless other, increasingly fancy fold types.

ALWAYS STAY UP TO DATE!

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss no more important news!

No spam mails here! Only the coolest info and updates to spice up your inbox.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

Welche Falzarten gibt es?

Die Falzarten lassen sich in zwei Kategorien aufteilen: Parallelfalzungen und Kreuzfalzungen. Die Parallelfalzungen verlaufen in parallelen Falzlinien, wohingegen die Kreuzfalzungen ein Kreuz bilden.

Was ist «Falzen» überhaupt?
Wir kennen das «Falzen» alle aus unserer Kindheit, nämlich vom Papierflugzeug. Es ist im Prinzip nichts anderes als ein A4, an beliebiger Stelle gefaltet und *tadaaa*: Es lässt sich ein Blatt Papier durch die Luft schaukeln. Genauso – oder besser gesagt ähnlich – funktioniert das Falzen auf unseren Maschinen im Drucksaal. Na gut, meistens kommen dabei keine Papierflieger heraus, sondern mit einem Falz verleihen wir Druckprodukten ganz ohne zu schneiden, heften oder kleben ein neues Format. Druckbögen (Papier) werden beim
Falzen in bestimmte Formen gefaltet. So entstehen je nach verwendeter Falzart unterschiedlich viele Umbrüche und Seiten, ohne dass das Druckprodukt gebunden werden muss.

 

Da das «Falzen»  so viele spannende Optionen bietet Druckprodukte zu veredeln, stellen wir euch heute einpaar Klassiker vor.

Parallelfalz

Beim Parallelfalz wird der Papierbogen im Quer- oder Hochformat in der Mitte immer in der gleichen Richtung gefalzt. Wird der Papierbogen zwei Mal mittig parallel gefalzt, entstehen dabei drei Brüche und somit acht Seiten.

Altarfalz

Auch beim Altarfalz verlaufen die Falzlinien parallel zueinander. Die äusseren Teile des Bogens werden ohne Überlappung nach innen gefalzt, bis ihre Kanten fast aufeinandertreffen. Wird der Papierbogen zwei Mal gefalzt, entstehen zwei Brüche bzw. sechs Seiten. Der Mittelteil ist doppelt so gross wie ein Aussenteil. Die beiden Aussenteile bilden zusammen die Titelseite.

Wickelfalz

Beim Wickelfalz verlaufen die Falzlinien ebenfalls parallel zueinander. Die Falzung wird anders als beim Parallelfalz immer in die gleiche Richtung, nach innen vorgenommen, sodass der Papierbogen wie «eingewickelt» aussieht. Damit die nach innen gefalzten Seiten nicht am Falz anstossen, müssen diese ein bis drei Millimeter kürzer sein als die Rückseite und Titelseite. Wird der Papierbogen zwei Mal gefalzt, entstehen zwei Brüche und somit sechs Seiten.

Zickzackfalz

Beim Zickzackfalz werden zwei oder mehr Teile des Papierbogens in wechselnder Richtung gefalzt. Dabei entsteht ein typisches Zickzack-Muster. Wird der Papierbogen zwei Mal im Zickzack gefalzt, ergeben sich zwei Brüche und somit sechs Seiten.

Kreuzbruchfalz

Beim Kreuzbruchfalz werden mehrere Falzungen nacheinander durchgeführt: Jeweils um 90° versetzt wird das Papier mittig gefalzt, sodass die Falzbrüche, wenn der Druckbogen komplett geöffnet ist, ein Kreuz ergeben. Wird der Papierbogen zwei Mal im Kreuz gefalzt, entstehen zwei Brüche bzw. acht Seiten.

Natürlich lassen sich die verschiedenen Falzarten auch miteinander kombinieren. Damit entstehen unzählige weitere, immer ausgefallenere Falzarten.

BLEIB IMMER UP TO DATE!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter und verpasse keine wichtigen Neuigkeiten mehr!

Keine Spam-Mails hier! Nur die coolsten Infos und Updates, die dein Postfach aufpeppen.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday