RGB vs. CMYK - What's the difference?

"But the colors look completely different on the screen!" We often hear this sentence. Because in order to be able to represent color on the screen or on paper, there are different color models.

RGB color model

RGB stands for the light colors red, green and blue. RGB is an additive color model, i.e. the more colors are mixed together, the brighter the hue. Using this color model, up to 16.8 million colors can be represented. The RGB color model is used to display colors on all screens.

CMYK color model

CMYK stands for Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and Key Color (Black). CMYK is a subtractive color model, i.e. the more colors are mixed into each other, the darker the color tone becomes. With this color model, up to 4.3 billion colors can be represented. The CMYK color space is therefore smaller than the RGB color space. The CMYK color model is used for all of print products. 

Which color model do I need?

If print data is supplied in the wrong color model, this can lead to significant color deviations in the final print product. It is therefore important to always use the CMYK color model for print media such as posters, flyers and magazines, and the RGB color model for all online applications such as websites, photos for social media and videos. 

If a print product was created in the wrong color model, it is possible to switch between the two color spaces subsequently. However, since not all colors are transferred identically during the conversion, color deviations may occur. Programs in which you can convert the color model are, for example, Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator and InDesign.  

Which file format for which color model?

For the RGB color model, the ideal file formats are JPEG, PSD, PNG and GIF. The best file formats for CMYK are PDF, AI and EPS.

ALWAYS STAY UP TO DATE!

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss no more important news!

No spam mails here! Only the coolest info and updates to spice up your inbox.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

RGB vs. CMYK – Was ist der Unterschied?

«Am Bildschirm sehen die Farben aber ganz anders aus!" Diesen Satz hören wir oft. Denn um Farbe am Bildschirm oder auf Papier darstellen zu können, gibt es unterschiedliche Farbmodelle.

RGB-Farbmodell

RGB steht für die Lichtfarben Rot, Grün und Blau. RGB ist ein additives Farbmodell, d. h. je mehr Farben ineinander gemischt werden, desto heller wird der Farbton. Mithilfe dieses Farbmodells können bis zu 16,8 Millionen Farben dargestellt werden. Das RGB-Farbmodell wird für die Anzeige von Farben auf allen Bildschirmen verwendet.

CMYK-Farbmodell

CMYK steht für Cyan, Magenta, Yellow und Key Colour (Schwarz). CMYK ist ein subtraktives Farbmodell, d. h. je mehr Farben ineinander gemischt werden, desto dunkler wird der Farbton. Mit diesem Farbmodell können bis zu 4,3 Milliarden Farben dargestellt werden. Der CMYK-Farbraum ist also kleiner als der RGB-Farbraum. Das CMYK-Farbmodell wird für alle von Druckprodukten verwendet. 

Welches Farbmodell benötige ich?

Werden Druckdaten im falschen Farbmodell geliefert, kann dies zu erheblichen Farbabweichungen im finalen Druck-Erzeugnis führen. Wichtig ist also, für Printmedien wie Plakate, Flyers und Zeitschriften immer das Farbmodell CMYK zu verwenden und für alle Online-Anwendungen wie Websites, Fotos für die Sozialen Medien und Videos das Farbmodell RGB. 

Falls ein Druck-Erzeugnis im falschen Farbmodell angelegt wurde, kann zwischen den zwei Farbräumen nachträglich gewechselt werden. Da jedoch nicht alle Farben bei der Umwandlung identisch übernommen werden, kann es zu Farbabweichungen kommen. Programme, in denen man den Farbmodell umwandeln kann, sind zum Beispiel Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator und InDesign.  

Welches Dateiformat für welches Farbmodell?

Für das RGB-Farbmodell sind die Dateiformate JPEG, PSD, PNG und GIF ideal. Die besten Dateiformate für CMYK sind PDF, AI und EPS.

BLEIB IMMER UP TO DATE!

Abonniere unseren Newsletter und verpasse keine wichtigen Neuigkeiten mehr!

Keine Spam-Mails hier! Nur die coolsten Infos und Updates, die dein Postfach aufpeppen.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday