Offset printing vs. digital printing - what's the difference?

Depending on the product, print run or paper, digital or offset printing is used. But what is actually the difference?

Digital printing
In digital printing, data is transferred directly from a computer to a digital printing press. Laser technology selectively applies colors to the paper, creating a copy from electrical charges to guarantee an accurate image. 

Offset printing
The offset printing process is a lot more complex. The ink is not simply printed directly onto the paper, but must first pass through a large number of rollers, then be transferred from the printing plate to the blanket cylinder and from the blanket cylinder to the paper. One printing plate is exposed for each printing color (cyan, magenta, yellow and black). Printing plates are made of sheet metal and are coated in such a way that they accept ink wherever a subject is to be printed. This is then transferred to the paper. The printing plate is then clamped into the press by the printing technologist and the printing process can begin.

When to use which printing process?
Offset printing is known for its outstanding quality. The motifs are printed with razor-sharp edges and a very fine screen that is barely visible to the naked eye. Another advantage is that special colors such as Pantone can be printed. Due to the large amount of work involved, this printing process is usually only used for large print runs of over 300 copies. 

 In recent years, however, digital printing has also improved significantly in terms of quality and gained in importance thanks to its flexibility. To the naked eye, someone who does not come from the printing industry often hardly recognizes the difference between offset and digital printing. A major advantage of the digital printing process is that even short runs with exemplary customization can be printed at favorable conditions. Another advantage is the short setup time, which allows faster delivery times. This is because there is no need to expose the printing plates at all.

Offset printing and digital printing both have their advantages. Our printing experts will advise you at any time so that you can soon hold your perfect flyers, business cards, brochures or other print products in your hands.

ALWAYS STAY UP TO DATE!

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss no more important news!

No spam mails here! Only the coolest info and updates to spice up your inbox.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

Offsetdruck vs. Digitaldruck – Was ist der Unterschied?

Je nach Produkt, Auflage oder Papier kommt der Digital- oder Offsetdruck zum Einsatz. Aber was ist eigentlich der Unterschied?

Digitaldruck
Beim Digitaldruck werden die Daten direkt von einem Computer in eine Digitaldruckmaschine übertragen. Bei der Lasertechnologie werden selektiv Farben auf das Papier aufgetragen, dabei wird eine Kopie aus elektrischen Ladungen erzeugt, um ein genaues Abbild zu garantiert. 

Offsetdruck
Das Offsetdruckverfahren ist um einiges komplexer, die Farbe wird nicht einfach direkt auf das Papier gedruckt, sondern muss zuerst eine Vielzahl von Walzen durchlaufen, dann von der Druckplatte auf den Gummituchzylinder und vom Gummituchzylinder auf das Papier übertragen werden. Für jede Druckfarbe (Cyan, Magenta, Gelb und Schwarz) wird eine Druckplatte belichtet. Druckplatten sind aus Blech und so beschichtet, dass sie überall da, wo ein Sujet gedruckt werden soll, Farbe annehmen. Diese wird dann auf das Papier übertragen. Die Druckplatte wird so dann vom Drucktechnologen in die Druckmaschine eingespannt und der Druckvorgang kann beginnen.

Wann wird nun auf welches Druckverfahren gesetzt?
Der Offsetdruck ist bekannt für seine hervorragende Qualität. Die Motive werden mit gestochen scharfe Kanten und einem sehr feinen Raster gedruckt, welches von blossem Auge kaum erkennbar ist. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass Sonderfarben wie Pantone gedruckt werden können. Aufgrund des grossen Aufwands wird dieses Druckverfahren meist nur bei einer hohen Auflage von über 300 Exemplaren angewendet. 

 In den letzten Jahren hat aber auch der Digitaldruck qualitativ deutlich zugelegt und dank seiner Flexibilität an Bedeutung gewonnen. Von blossem Auge erkennt jemand, der nicht aus der Druckbranche kommt oft den Unterschied von Offset- zu Digitaldruck kaum mehr. Ein grosser Vorteil des Digitaldruckverfahrens ist der, dass auch kleine Auflagen mit exemplarischer Anpassung zu günstigen Konditionen gedruckt werden können. Ein weiterer Vorteil besteht in der kurzen Einrichtezeit, was schnellere Lieferzeiten ermöglicht. Dies weil das Belichten von den Druckplatten gänzlich entfällt.

Der Offsetdruck wie auch der Digitaldruck haben beide ihre Vorteile. Unsere Druckexperten beraten dich jederzeit, damit du deine perfekten Flyer, Visitenkarten, Broschüren oder sonstigen Printprodukte bald in den Händen haltest.

BLEIBEN SIE IMMER UP TO DATE!

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und verpassen Sie keine wichtigen Neuigkeiten mehr!

Keine Spam-Mails hier! Nur die coolsten Infos und Updates, die Ihr Postfach aufpeppen.

Pfingsten

Unser Geschäft bleibt am Pfingstmontag, dem 20. Mai 2024, geschlossen. Ab Dienstag, dem 21. Mai 2024, sind wir wieder für Sie da.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday