RGB vs. CMYK - What's the difference?

"But the colors look completely different on the screen!" We often hear this sentence. Because in order to be able to represent color on the screen or on paper, there are different color models.

RGB color model

RGB stands for the light colors red, green and blue. RGB is an additive color model, i.e. the more colors are mixed together, the brighter the hue. Using this color model, up to 16.8 million colors can be represented. The RGB color model is used to display colors on all screens.

CMYK color model

CMYK stands for Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and Key Color (Black). CMYK is a subtractive color model, i.e. the more colors are mixed into each other, the darker the color tone becomes. With this color model, up to 4.3 billion colors can be represented. The CMYK color space is therefore smaller than the RGB color space. The CMYK color model is used for all of print products. 

Which color model do I need?

If print data is supplied in the wrong color model, this can lead to significant color deviations in the final print product. It is therefore important to always use the CMYK color model for print media such as posters, flyers and magazines, and the RGB color model for all online applications such as websites, photos for social media and videos. 

If a print product was created in the wrong color model, it is possible to switch between the two color spaces subsequently. However, since not all colors are transferred identically during the conversion, color deviations may occur. Programs in which you can convert the color model are, for example, Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator and InDesign.  

Which file format for which color model?

For the RGB color model, the ideal file formats are JPEG, PSD, PNG and GIF. The best file formats for CMYK are PDF, AI and EPS.

ALWAYS STAY UP TO DATE!

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss no more important news!

No spam mails here! Only the coolest info and updates to spice up your inbox.

× Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

RGB vs. CMYK - Quelle est la différence ?

"Mais à l'écran, les couleurs sont très différentes !" Nous entendons souvent cette phrase. En effet, pour pouvoir représenter la couleur à l'écran ou sur papier, il existe différents modèles de couleurs.

Modèle de couleurs RGB

RGB désigne les couleurs de lumière rouge, verte et bleue. RGB est un modèle de couleur additif, c'est-à-dire que plus les couleurs sont mélangées entre elles, plus la teinte est claire. Ce modèle de couleurs permet d'afficher jusqu'à 16,8 millions de couleurs. Le modèle de couleurs RVB est utilisé pour l'affichage des couleurs sur tous les écrans.

Modèle de couleurs CMYK

CMYK signifie Cyan, Magenta, Yellow et Key Colour (noir). CMYK est un modèle de couleur soustractif, c'est-à-dire que plus les couleurs sont mélangées entre elles, plus la teinte est foncée. Ce modèle chromatique permet d'afficher jusqu'à 4,3 milliards de couleurs. L'espace colorimétrique CMYK est donc plus petit que l'espace colorimétrique RGB. Le modèle de couleurs CMYK est utilisé pour tous les produits d'impression. 

De quel modèle de couleur ai-je besoin ?

Si les données d'impression sont fournies dans le mauvais modèle de couleurs, cela peut entraîner des différences de couleurs considérables dans le produit imprimé final. Il est donc important de toujours utiliser le modèle de couleurs CMYK pour les médias imprimés tels que les affiches, les flyers et les magazines, et le modèle de couleurs RGB pour toutes les applications en ligne telles que les sites web, les photos pour les médias sociaux et les vidéos. 

Si un produit d'impression a été créé dans le mauvais modèle de couleurs, il est possible de passer ultérieurement d'un espace chromatique à l'autre. Cependant, comme toutes les couleurs ne sont pas reprises à l'identique lors de la conversion, des différences de couleurs peuvent apparaître. Les programmes dans lesquels on peut convertir le modèle de couleurs sont par exemple Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator et InDesign.  

Quel format de fichier pour quel modèle de couleur ?

Pour le modèle de couleurs RVB, les formats de fichiers JPEG, PSD, PNG et GIF sont idéaux. Les meilleurs formats de fichier pour le CMJN sont PDF, AI et EPS.

RESTEZ TOUJOURS À LA PAGE !

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et ne manquez pas ne recevez plus aucune nouvelle importante !

Pas de spam ici ! Seulement les infos et les mises à jour les plus cools pour égayer votre boîte aux lettres.

× Disponible le dimanchelundile mardile jeudilejeudile vendredile samedi